Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

3MT 2024 Final Competition and Awards

The 2024 Three Minute Thesis Final Competition was held Wednesday, April 3, from 1:30 to 3pm. Twelve finalists made their presentations to a panel of judges and a crowd of attendees. Our judges for the competition were:

  • Keith Carver—Senior Vice Chancellor/Senior Vice President, UT Institute of Agriculture
  • Javiette Samuel—Associate Vice Chancellor and Executive Director, Community Engagement and Outreach
  • Will Jennings—Faculty Director of Global Learning and Student Impact

John Stier, Associate Dean of the Herbert College of Agriculture, served as emcee for the event, with Dixie L. Thompson introducing the judges and presenting the awards. All the presenters did very well, making the job of choosing the winners as difficult as possible. They were clear, passionate, and demonstrated the high level of impactful work being done by graduate students at UT.

First Place
Emmanuel Allwell-Microbiology
Second Place
Namrata Mukherjee-Social Work
Third Place
Alexandra Carlson-Comparative and Experimental Medicine
People’s Choice (chosen by audience)
Loren Foley-Animal Science
From Left to Right: Loren Foley, Emmanuel Allwell, Namrata Mukherjee, Alexandra Carlson, Dixie L. Thompson (Dean of the Graduate School)

The Graduate School would like to thank all of the presenters who participated this year, all of our judges, and all of the faculty, staff and students who came out to support these fantastic scholars. And if you missed it, you can view the event at