Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Three Minute Thesis 2023 Heat Schedule

UT graduate students are preparing to participate in the 2023 Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition. The first part of the competition starts at the end of this month, where they will compete across four heats. Three competitors will be chosen from each heat and the twelve winners will move forward to the final competition. The final competition will then take place on March 29 from 1:30-3 during Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week (GPSAW).

Heat 1: February 27, 9:30-11 (Student Union 169)

  • Katelin Hubbard—Nutritional Sciences
  • Sarah Kenney—Architecture
  • Ekramul Haque Ehite—Biosystems Engineering
  • Shikha Bangar—Physics
  • Nicole Szafranski—Comparative and Experimental Medicine
  • Kelechi Akwataghibe—Mathematics
  • Tingao Lucy Jiang—Mathematics
  • Jessie Richards—Comparative and Experimental Medicine

Heat 2: February 27, 1:30-3 (Student Union 169)

  • Nathan Bryant—Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Megan von Bergen—English
  • Makhali Voss—Entomology and Plant Pathology
  • Kinsey Stewart—Anthropology
  • Meaghan Harley-Troxell—Comparative and Experimental Medicine
  • Tania Dawant—Comparative and Experimental Medicine
  • Sargun Singh Rohewal—Energy Science and Engineering
  • Sayali Mulay—Microbiology
  • Anielle Duncan—Anthropology

Heat 3: March 2, 10:30-noon (Student Union 262B)

  • Mahshid Mokhtarnejad—Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Samudra Dasgupta—Data Science and Engineering
  • Emily Herron—Data Science and Engineering
  • Amie Sankoh—Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology
  • Pranaav Jadhav—Communication and Information
  • Debalina Acharyya—Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology
  • Daniel Mishler—Computer Engineering
  • Amanda Womac—Communication and Information
  • Rounak Patra—Plant, Soil, and Environmental Sciences
  • Tori Bertram—Communication and Information
  • Fengpei Yuan—Mechanical Engineering

Heat 4: March 3, 3:30-5 (Student Union 169)

  • Cecily Bernard—Modern Foreign Languages
  • Ziming Liu—Mechanical Engineering
  • Sweta Dixit—Wildlife and Fisheries Science
  • Michael Sutherlin—English
  • Kaitlin Simpson—History
  • Jessika Mashburn—Psychology
  • Jennifer Baily—Microbiology

Please come out and support these participants as they tell you about their research and its importance to people just like you.

Got questions about the 2023 Three Minute Thesis? Contact Sean Hendricks ( or Abby Sherman (